The Libertarian Party of Santa Clara County is a county organization of the Libertarian Party of California, which is itself an affiliate of the national Libertarian Party.

The Libertarian Party (LP) was founded in 1971, and is the third largest political party in the United States. The LP seeks to expand personal freedoms, dramatically reduce taxes and government interference in the economy, and avoid meddling in overseas conflicts. For further information about our stands on issues, see our Platform.



Central Committee

Following the terminology of election law in California, the main body of voting members of the Libertarian Party of Santa Clara County is called the Central Committee.  Committee membership is defined as meeting all of the following criteria:

  • Is a current dues paying member of the Libertarian Party of California
  • Has designated Santa Clara County as the county with which they are affiliated
  • Has signed the Non-Aggression Statement
  • Is registered to vote as a Libertarian, if eligible


Executive Committee

The Libertarian Party of Santa Clara County is managed on an ongoing basis by its Executive Committee, consisting of officers elected annually by the Central Committee.

There are ten officers, including the four common to most organizations -- Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer -- along with the Chairs of six standing committees: Activities Chair, Campaigns Chair, Fundraising Chair, Membership Chair, Newsletter Chair, and Publicity Chair.


Judicial Committee

The three-member Judicial Committee hears and rules on appeals of actions of the Executive Committee.


Governing Documents


The Libertarian Party of Santa Clara County is governed by a Constitution, Bylaws, and Meeting Rules.